UN-believable! Nobody can be THAT naive…
…or can they? It was hillarious reading the thread on real estate webmasters initiated by Mr. Ron Park. Mr. Park was miffed about the results of his $10,500 outlay to try and clone Redfin.
He hired a low-cost provider to do it for him. Then, when he didn’t get the results he hoped for, he proceeded to dispute the charges on his credit card and asked for help on a public discussion forum at realestatewebmasters on how to get unstuck. He was kind enough to conveniently provide full reference about his intent to produce a “…Redfin.com clone, in all functionalities and appearance…”
>>”My name is Ron Park and I have been working with a service provider…to create my real estate mash-up site. My project…was for a Redfin.com clone, in all functionalities and appearance. They were supposed to finish the site by January 25th, 2008 but yesterday, 4/24/08, I told them I’m through with them. The site is nowhere near being a Redfin clone, and they’ve just been problematic from the start. I have given this company a total of $10,500…” <<
Redfin caught on. It’s not clear if they’re taking any next steps. But on one of their blog posts last week, they so appropriately pointed out the most laughable feature about Mr. Park’s clone: at the bottom were the words: “Copyright 2008 Tareu.com“
I tried to take a look at Mr. Park’s site. Not surprisingly, it appears to be in a state of disrepair. But, yep, there’s the copyright. And, so was a link to “Sweet Digs,” a would-be clone of a Redfin link to Redfin’s online newsletter. (Have you no shame?!)

Hmmm… I also seem to recall a Realtor logo on Mr. Park’s site. I wonder how this squares with NAR’s code of ethics?



